Author Topic: New Amp: Tektron 2a3/50  (Read 4394 times)

Offline Tasdevil

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Liked: 2
New Amp: Tektron 2a3/50
« on: January 07, 2018, 01:22:13 AM »
Hi, I'm a new member here although I did post occasionally on the old forum. Anyway I'm a good friend of Steve ( I think! ) and he wanted to see some photos of my new amp ( probably to bag it ) so here it is. It's a Tektron 2a3/50s power amp made in Italy. It has a switchable filament power supply so you can use various triodes like 45's, 2a3's, 300b's and 50's etc. Cheers.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2018, 01:52:16 AM by stevenvalve »

Offline stevenvalve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1529
  • Liked: 273
Re: New Amp: Tektron 2a3/50
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2018, 01:39:17 AM »
Nice Peter you devil, Interesting amp people because its can use 45s 2A3s and 50s but how does the maker do that. Obliviously there is a filament switch for 7.5v and 2.5v but running 350 volt measured at the tube when the 45 can only handle 250v in globe or ST form is interesting.

Offline Tasdevil

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Liked: 2
Re: New Amp: Tektron 2a3/50
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2018, 01:55:44 AM »
Hi Steve, here is makers take on using various triodes : yes you can use with 45. Of course. Must only use low current.

WIth 275 V or 300 V must set current at 30 mA like indicated in the manual..

why? because the limit of tube are 9W dissipation and 250 x 36 = around 9W.

if use 300 V x 30mA = 9W.

So if you want can use 45 max current 30mA.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2018, 01:58:00 AM by Tasdevil »

Offline kajak12

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2455
  • Liked: 68
    • http://killerdac.com/forum/index.php
Re: New Amp: Tektron 2a3/50
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2018, 08:19:58 PM »
Hi, I'm a new member here although I did post occasionally on the old forum. Anyway I'm a good friend of Steve ( I think! ) and he wanted to see some photos of my new amp ( probably to bag it ) so here it is. It's a Tektron 2a3/50s power amp made in Italy. It has a switchable filament power supply so you can use various triodes like 45's, 2a3's, 300b's and 50's etc. Cheers.
Good friend with steve? I guess anybody with valves is a good friend now days  :D
still discovering the link between electronics and audio reproduction.so much to learn and so little time

Offline rab

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 220
  • Liked: 30
Re: New Amp: Tektron 2a3/50
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2018, 08:39:06 PM »
Looks nice. Is that a Leak stereo 20 on the floor?

Offline Tasdevil

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Liked: 2
Re: New Amp: Tektron 2a3/50
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2018, 02:32:00 AM »
Hi Rab,
           Yes it is, I use it to drive some Quad 57's. Sounds great.